top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa and Stacey for State Assmebly

LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 21

Originally published in NJSpotlight | MAY 19, 2019


The 21st District encompasses 16 communities in Morris, Somerset, and Union counties: Berkeley Heights, Bernards, Chatham Borough, Cranford, Far Hills, Garwood, Kenilworth, Long Hill, Mountainside, New Providence, Roselle Park, Springfield, Summit, Warren, Watchung, and Westfield.


The district is represented by Republicans, but voter registration leans slightly Democratic: 31 percent to 28 percent. Unaffiliated voters traditionally swing the results to the “red” side of the ballot.


Both GOP Assembly members are on the ballot: Jon Bramnick of Westfield, who is the Republican leader in the lower house, and Nancy Munoz of Summit.


Three Democrats are seeking two slots on the November ballot. Jill LaZare of Summit is making her third try at a legislative seat. Running on the party-endorsed ticket are Lisa Mandelblatt of Westfield, who had filed to run for Congress last year but then bowed out, and Stacey Gunderman of New Providence.


CANDIDATES IN CONTESTED PRIMARY

NJ Spotlight asked all candidates in contested races to fill out a brief survey about themselves and why they are running. These are the responses we received from 21st District candidates.


LISA MANDELBLATT: DEMOCRAT

Hometown: Westfield

Age: 55

Occupation: Attorney, educator, community leader, and former candidate for Congress

Family: Married to Gary Mandelblatt for 30 years. Two children: Eric (age 27) and Jennifer (age 24)

Education: JD, Fordham University School of Law; BA Government, Cornell University

Email/phone: lisa@mandelblattgunderman.com/(908) 612-5984


Why are you running for the Assembly? How we raise public funds and how we invest them put our values and priorities into action. We need representatives who share our values and will stand up for us. For too long we have been failed by career politicians who opposed gun violence reform, worsened our tax burden, neglected public transportation, infrastructure and our schools. If you really want to change Trenton, you start by changing the type of people you send to Trenton.


I am an attorney, educator and community leader. I have dedicated my life to making a difference in others’ lives. As your state Assemblywoman, I am committed to modernize public transportation, invest in infrastructure and education, reduce our tax burden, support small businesses and make the tough decisions to fix the fiscal crisis in state government for future generations. I will listen, be responsive, be accountable and bring fresh approaches because you deserve better.


There is a lot of work to do to get New Jersey back on track and I have never been afraid of hard work or backed away from a challenge. With your support, I will represent our shared priorities and values, always be on your side, and work tirelessly for the 21st Legislative District.


What are your three top priorities if elected? Modernizing public transportation and investing in infrastructure; investing in education; reducing our tax burden.


What makes you the best candidate? I’m an attorney, educator, community leader and mom. I know what is at stake in this election. We have a unique opportunity to flip these two Assembly seats, but we can only do so by putting the best candidates on the ballot.

I grew up in this district and moved back here to raise my family. I have been working with and listening to my neighbors and hearing what they want: access to quality, affordable healthcare; strong schools where their children spend time actively learning, not practicing active-shooter drills; clean water, clean air and real progress made on climate change; money raised more fairly and invested more wisely; the rights of women, people of color, LGBTQ folks expanded, not contracted; and a public transportation system that works.


People know me and they trust me. And I’ve done this before. I know what it takes to put together a campaign and the hard work that it takes to be a candidate.

It’s time for the people of LD21 to have representatives who will fight for them.


STACEY GUNDERMAN: DEMOCRAT

Hometown: Lansdale, PA; live in New Providence

Age: 38

Occupation: Sales associate at Erickson Living

Family: Married to Mark. Two sons, ages six and three

Education: I am a high school graduate. My family’s financial situation didn’t afford me the opportunity to go to college. Instead, I worked, took some community college classes, and, at age 21, moved to New York City to pursue acting. Within a year I had my Equity card. After stepping away from acting, I obtained financial and insurance licenses, including my Series 6 and 63 as part of my professional career.

Email/phone: stacey@mandelblattgunderman.com


Why are you running for the Assembly? I am running … because enough is enough. After the 2016 election, I asked myself what I could to do to be a part of the change I wanted to see in my community. I started by organizing buses to the 2017 Women’s March in Washington, D.C. Then I revitalized the long-dormant New Providence Democratic Club. In 2018, “red” New Providence voted for now-Rep. Tom Malinowski. Now I am running because we can do more. For too long, the 21st District has been failed by disconnected politicians that oppose gun-violence reforms, worsened our tax burden, and neglected our public transportation, infrastructure and schools.


What are your three top priorities if elected? Modernizing public transportation; investing in infrastructure and education; reducing the tax burden.


What makes you the best candidate? My story isn’t the typical life story of those entering politics. Rather, it is the story of you, or your neighbors, or friends. As a young professional, I learned about insurance and finance working for a Fortune 100 company. I’ve thrived in sales, and in my current role I’m helping New Jerseyans secure their retirement homes here in the Garden State. My business know-how wasn’t taught to me in a classroom; I learned it in real world experiences as a working mom with two young boys.


I want to bring my unique experiences to Trenton, where we must take on the affordability crisis, protect our environment for future generations, modernize our transportation system, and strengthen our schools. These public policy challenges require new ideas and fresh approaches to achieve the innovative solutions we need to move New Jersey forward, and as your state Assemblywoman, I know that together we can make happen. I will listen, be responsive, be accountable and bring fresh perspectives because the residents of the 21st legislative district deserve better.


JILL LAZARE did not respond to the survey request.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sierra Club - Meet the Candidates

The NJ Sierra Club Loantaka Group is pleased to hold a Meet and Greet for Lisa Mandelblatt and Stacey Gunderman, NJ21 District Democratic Assembly candidates. They have been endorsed by the Sierra Clu

Sierra Club Endorses Mandelblatt and Gunderman

Berkeley Heights, NJ – LD21 Democratic Candidates Lisa Mandelblatt and Stacey Gunderman have been endorsed by the Sierra Club, one of the nation’s leading environmental organizations. The candidates i

Bramnick Shoots Himself in the Foot with Double-Talk

Assembly Minority Leader Jon Bramnick (R-Westfield) voted both ways on gun safety legislation, opening himself to attack by political opponents over an emotionally charged debate about high capacity a

bottom of page